Order a New Minimum Wage Poster for Compliance w/ 2017 Posting Changes
Shop OurSolutions  ►
Priority Number

Breaking Down State Minimum Wage Poster Changes for 2017

Numerous state minimum wage changes are happening in 2017 as new laws are passed. Just a reminder: To remain compliant, state, federal and local (if applicable) minimum wage postings must be displayed – even if they conflict. The employer must pay workers the higher of the rates. The following is a list of those states with minimum wage changes in 2017.

State Minimum Wage Increases

Alaska

The Alaska minimum wage increased from $9.75 an hour to $9.80 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Alaska state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Smoking Notice, OSHA and Right to Know posters.

Arizona

The Arizona minimum wage increased from $8.05 per hour to $10.00 per hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Arizona state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers’ Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, OSHA, Workplace Bodily Fluids Exposure, Constructive Discharge, No Smoking, E-Verify and Right to Work, Exposure to MRSA, and Fair Employment.

Arkansas

The Arkansas minimum wage increased from $8.00 an hour to $8.50 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Arkansas state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, and No Smoking.

California

The minimum wage in California increased from $10.00 an hour to $10.50 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees effective January 1, 2017. Employers with 25 or fewer employees will remain at $10.00 per hour. The ComplyRight California state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, No Smoking, Payday Notice, Emergency Numbers, Access to Medical Records, Family Care and Medical Records, Pregnancy Disability Leave, Discrimination and Harassment, OSHA, Time Off for Voting, Whistleblower Protection Act, and Minimum Wage Supplement.

Colorado

The Colorado minimum wage increased from $8.31 an hour to $9.30 an hour for non-tipped employees and from $5.29 an hour to $6.28 an hour for tipped employees effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Colorado state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation Part 1 and 2, Unemployment Insurance, Pay Day Notice, Fair Employment, and Pregnancy Accommodations.

Connecticut

The Connecticut minimum wage increased from $9.60 an hour to $10.10 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Connecticut state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Paid Sick Leave, Sexual Harassment, Electronic Monitoring, Managed Care, Fair Employment, Child Labor (Required for Mercantile and Hotel industries), and No Smoking.

District of Columbia

The District of Columbia minimum wage increased from $11.50 an hour to $12.50 an hour effective July 1, 2017. The ComplyRight District of Columbia state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance (must be obtained from state), Protecting Pregnant Workers, Wage Theft Prevention, Child Labor (must be obtained from D.C. Public Schools), Fair Employment, Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act, Right to Breastfeed, and No Smoking.

Florida

The minimum wage in Florida increased from $8.05 an hour to $8.10 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The minimum wage for tipped employees will also be increased from $5.03 per hour to $5.08 per hour in addition to tips. The ComplyRight Florida state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Child Labor, and Fair Employment.

Hawaii

The Hawaii minimum wage increased from $8.50 an hour to $9.25 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Hawaii state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Whistleblower Protection, OSHA, and No Smoking.

Maine

The Maine minimum wage increased from $7.50 an hour to $9.00 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Maine state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers’ Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Whistleblower Protection, Sexual Harassment, Child Labor, Video Display Terminal Law, and Regulation of Employment.

Maryland

The minimum wage in Maryland increased from $8.75 an hour to $9.25 an hour effective July 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Maryland state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Equal Pay for Equal Work, Fair Employment, Child Labor, Health Insurance, OSHA, and No Smoking.

Massachusetts

The minimum wage in Massachusetts increased from $10.00 an hour to $11.00 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Massachusetts state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage and Hour Law, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Earned Sick Time, Parental Leave, Fair Employment, and No Smoking.

Michigan

The Michigan minimum wage increased from $8.50 an hour to $8.90 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Michigan state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Whistleblower Protection, Unemployment Insurance, Fair Employment, Right to Know/MSDS, No Smoking, OSHA, and Child Labor.

Missouri

The Missouri minimum wage increased from $7.65 an hour to $7.70 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The minimum wage employers must pay tipped employees will also increase from $3.825 an hour to $3.85 per hour. The ComplyRight Missouri state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Child Labor, No Smoking, and Fair Employment.

Montana

The minimum wage in Montana increased from $8.05 an hour to $8.15 an hour effective January 1, 2017 based on the cost-of-living adjustment. The ComplyRight Montana state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers' Compensation (must be obtained from state), Unemployment Insurance (must be obtained from state), Fair Employment, and No Smoking.

Nevada

The Nevada 2017 Annual Minimum Wage Bulletin has been updated to reflect the minimum wage rates effective July 1, 2017. The rates remain unchanged on July 1, 2017. Employers are required to post these updated yearly bulletins along with the updated Minimum Wage poster. The ComplyRight Nevada state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date posters including the Minimum Wage, Unemployment Insurance, Fair Employment, Workers’ Compensation, Lie Detector, Payday Notice and OSHA posters.

New Jersey

The New Jersey minimum wage increased from $8.38 an hour to $8.44 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight New Jersey state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Employee Recordkeeping Requirements, Family Leave Act, Family Leave Insurance, Wage Payment, Conscientious Employee, Unemployment Insurance, Fair Employment, Workers’ Compensation, Workers’ Compensation (self-insured), Child Labor Part 1 and 2, and No Smoking.

New York

Governor Andrew Cuomo signed a law that will gradually raise the state’s minimum wage to $15 and also establishes paid family leave for New York workers. The minimum wage in New York will go up gradually in increments each year. The breakdown varies in different areas of the state. For example, large New York City employers will have to pay $11.00 an hour by December 31, 2016 with gradual yearly increases to $15.00 an hour. Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester employers will have to pay $10.00 an hour by December 31, 2016 with gradual yearly increases to $15.00 an hour. In the remainder of the state, the minimum wage will go to $9.70 on December 31, 2016 with gradual yearly increases.

The ComplyRight New York state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Fair Employment, Right to Know, Fringe Benefits and Hours, Time Off to Vote, Correction Law, Workers’ Compensation (must be obtained from insurance carrier), Unemployment Insurance (must be obtained from state), Disability Benefits (must be obtained from insurance carrier), No Smoking, and Smoking Permitted.

Ohio

Effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage in Ohio increased from $8.10 an hour to $8.15 an hour for non-tipped employees, and from $4.05 per hour to $4.08 per hour for tipped employees. The ComplyRight Ohio state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers’ Compensation (must be obtained from state), Child Labor, Fair Employment, and No Smoking.

Oregon

The minimum wage in Oregon will increase from $9.75 an hour to $10.25 effective July 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Oregon state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Family Leave Act, OSHA, Workers’ Compensation (must be obtained from insurance carrier), Unemployment Insurance (must be obtained from state), and No Smoking.

Rhode Island

The Rhode Island minimum wage for tipped employees increased from $3.39 an hour to $3.89 an hour effective February 19, 2017. The ComplyRight Rhode Island state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers’ Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, No Smoking, Pregnancy Discrimination, Fair Employment, Right to Know, Parental & Family Leave, and Whistleblower Protection.

Vermont

The Vermont minimum wage increased from $9.60 an hour to $10.00 an hour effective January 1, 2017. The ComplyRight Vermont state labor law poster includes the most up-to-date mandatory posters including the Minimum Wage, Workers’ Compensation, Employer’s Reinstatement, OSHA, Sexual Harassment, Family and Medical Leave, Child Labor, Unemployment Insurance, and Posting of Safety Records.

Minimum Wage History and its Impact on Labor Laws

President Franklin D. Roosevelt initiated the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) in 1938, establishing minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and youth employment standards affecting employees in the private sector and in Federal, State, and local governments. At the time, the federal minimum wage was set to 25 cents an hour and has continually increased over the years, most recently in July 2009 with $7.25 an hour. Minimum wage applies to an estimated 84 percent of the labor force today, particularly in the food service industry. Labor law compliance for individual state varies. States have the ability to provide higher minimum wages and more protective laws than the federal FLSA.

More to Come

Check back for an update with any additional State Minimum Wage changes and complete listings of Local City and County Minimum Wage Increases for 2017.